Skip to content

Between Two Speakers

September 22, 2010

I’ve been swamped with grad school, but frankly who isn’t up to their eyeballs in work these days?  Until I can come up with a few more decent posts, I decided to share some tracks that have been getting me through my good and bad days (totally stole this from Steve Lamacq).  Enjoy!

“Two Trees” by FOALS

The lyrics and music on this track work perfectly together.  You think it would be a depressing song, but on the contrary, it’s very uplifting.  It’s definitely one of my favorites off of “Total Life Forever.”  Such a spectacular album!  I’m excited to be seeing them live next month.  It’s been too long.

“Let’s Go Surfing” by The Drums

Whenever I listen to “Let’s Go Surfing,” it automatically puts me in a good mood.  This is one I’ve been playing in the mornings.  It’s get you going, for sure!

“If You Return” by Maximum Balloon featuring Little Dragon

Yesterday, I bought Maximum Balloon’s debut album.  I’m really impressed by the collaboration between Dave Sitek and the various artists.  This is one track I’ve been listening to over and over again.  I LOVE it!  I also love the visuals.   If I could marry this song, I would, but I’m sure that’s frowned upon in some states.

“Sax and Violins” by Talking Heads

I’ve been listening to Talking Heads a lot lately.  I think it’s well known that I love David Byrne, but this track in particular is constantly stuck in my head and I can only hear David singing it.  I think the lyrics are brilliant too.

So what songs do you listen to on your good or bad days?  Feel free to share them in the comments.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 12:31 pm

    I am totally swamped in grad school too! “If you return” is so great- lovely video too – will have to seek out some more of their music. I’ve been listening to The Drums too – “Instruct Me” is my current fav.

    I’ve been listening to Zola Jesus’ “Sea Talk,” on repeat. I don’t know if it puts me in a good mood or a bad mood, but it provides a sort of powerful undercurrent.

    Other recent favorites – “Postcards from Italy” (Beirut song covered by Florence & the Machine), “The Mountain” (Heartless Bastards) and old favorite feel-good-sing-along song “A New England” by Billy Brag.

    Are you currently in Memphis? I just moved to Houston last month.

  2. September 26, 2010 3:10 pm

    That’s a great description of Zola Jesus’ “Sea Talk.” I’m trying to think of some other tracks like that. They don’t have a positive or negative effect. They’re just perfect.

    I haven’t heard Florence’s cover of “Postcards from Italy.” I’ll have to check that out! Thanks for sharing.

    Yeah, I’ve been in Memphis for over a year. I almost went to the University of Houston for grad school. Small world. How are you adjusting to everything?

  3. October 17, 2010 4:05 pm

    Loving foals, possibly album of the year? But I think that 2 trees might be my least favorite song. It sounds like an advert for a blood clinic…

    I wrote a review here: http://thesleepingsun.wordpress.com/2010/05/21/foals-%E2%80%93-total-life-forever-2010/ if you are interested at all but yea.

    And have you seen their new video for Total Life Forever? Pretty sweet 😀

    Cheers, love the blog

  4. October 17, 2010 4:35 pm

    It’s definitely in my top 10 albums of the year, for sure. ha ha…I can see that. I love the song, but the video seemed a bit weak compared to the others. The “Blue Blood” video is brilliant! I haven’t seen the one for “Total Life Forever.” I didn’t know it was out yet.

    I’ll check out your review! Thanks for sharing.

  5. October 18, 2010 5:33 am

    Oh I’m an idiot! I meant to write blue blood haha…

Leave a Reply

