Skip to content

Jean-Luc Godard

November 25, 2009

I really like Godard’s work.  I’m going to be honest with you…Sometimes I literally get lost in his films, and by that, I mean I don’t understand the plot at all.  He’s heavy on existentialism, and I’m lucky if I can get through 30 minutes of a philosophy class.  Basically, I take pleasure in the pretty faces, unique cinematography and creative typographic sequences.  There’s nothing wrong with that, right?

Godard and New Wave Cinema have been great influences on my own work.  I’m infatuated with Godard’s style though, and I hope to continue exploring his work.

My own work entitled L’Hommage à Godard (Film Sequence 1). It appears to be a rip-off, but trust me it’s appropriated imagery based on admiration.  I like to think of it as a new narrative.  My good friend, Kendra, posed for this shoot.  In fact, she posed for a lot of my stuff.  Thanks, Kendra!  haha



Credit to I Love Hot Dogs for these fabulous stills.

For more:
Jean-Luc Godard on IMDB
Godard on Wikipedia

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 8:44 pm

    Very nice blog! Keep up with the good blogging!

    I hope you can come visit my blog sometime.

    http://bigworldcentral.wordpress.com/

  2. November 26, 2009 11:31 pm

    Good work, Hayley.
    I’ve produced a piece on Lemmy Caution that you might be interested in.
    http://includemeout2.blogspot.com/2009/11/lemmy-caution-birth-and-re-birth.html

  3. stylembe permalink
    February 15, 2010 6:45 pm

    It’s amazing how – in the 3rd picture – she looks like Marion Cotillard. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

