Skip to content

Go Forth

November 8, 2009

It has been almost a month since I last updated, and I actually feel horrible for not doing so.  I’ve hit a bump in the road.  Grad school has consumed every facet of my life and tortures the inner recesses of my brain making it hard for me to even form coherent sentences at the end of the day.  I haven’t been very productive art wise and that has obviously spilled over into this blog.  I’m going to develop some sort of schedule soon.  No worries.

With that being said, I thought I’d share this series of ads for Levi’s.  I’m sure they started airing back in July, but whenever I see them on TV my inner patriotic soul is stirred.  Who would have thought jeans could do that?  Actually, I think it has more to do with the recording of “O Pioneers.”  Sadly, I don’t want to go out and buy jeans.  I’d much rather run in vast wheat fields or gather my belongings and head West.

The photos for the circulating ads are by Ryan McGinley.  I haven’t posted about him before, because I feel like enough people do that for me.  He is definitely an amazing photographer, but  to truly appreciate his work you have to see it in person.  I feel like you see them in print or on album covers too much.  They’ve become hipster folly.  That aside, he does capture some pretty dynamic images.

levis-goforth-front

levis_go_forth_ryan_mcginley_04

Of course, full credit should go to the agency Wieden + Kennedy.  They’re the obvious brain power behind this campaign and to them I say WELL DONE!  Well done, indeed.

For more:
Wieden + Kennedy
Ryan McGinley

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

