Skip to content

Gustave Caillebotte

August 18, 2009

After receiving my Nineteenth-Century European Art textbook the other day, I started flipping through it and stopped on this work by Gustave Caillebotte.  It’s one of my absolute favorite paintings of all time.  Take a look at that lighting as it dances across the floor and over the backs of the floor workers.    The strong diagonals of the floor and the paneling of the walls create this mesmerizing composition.  It’s almost too perfect.  I read somewhere that photography greatly influenced Caillebotte’s work.  I can see that now.  His work is wonderful.

7041-004-8704D667

3780104038_1c81fb7abf

paintings-by-gustave-caillebotte-4

For more:
The Complete Works of Gustave Caillebotte

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 11:32 pm

    He is incredible, my god!
    Thank you for introducing me!

  2. October 28, 2009 11:47 am

    wow, that top print is incredible isn’t it? what a fascinating find.

  3. DiAndra permalink
    November 11, 2009 10:26 am

    These are absolutely brilliant! so magical in a way. btw Hayley how do I follow you cus I love your blog?!

  4. November 11, 2009 3:46 pm

    They really are! I want to study more of his work.

    Do you want to follow through blogger? I’m not sure how that works since I’m on WordPress. The best way would be: http://www.bloglovin.com/
    It’s a cool site where you can follow your favorites and it lets you know when they update.

Leave a Reply

