Skip to content

Re-Vamp

July 12, 2009

As an obsessive graphic design nerd, I find myself critiquing everything around me on a daily basis.  This is especially true with television shows because sadly I watch way too many of them, and just like the rest of America I am currently obsessed with the HBO series True Blood.  First off, let me state that I LOVE this show.  It’s so bad that it’s good.  However, I have a few qualms about some of their graphic design decisions.

For example, take the Fangtasia logo.

fangtasia_opening

When I think of a bar owned by an insanely sexy 1,100 year old Vampire, I do not picture this logo.  Sure, it serves its purpose.  It’s pretty in neon and playful with its curly type.  I guess it’s suppose to be human friendly, but seriously it could be so much more.  It should be sharp and angular.  All you have to do is throw in some sleek and sexy typography that resembles fangs.  It should have a grungy, but Gothic classy feel.  I’m not going to even discuss the shirts that have been made.  Yikes.  Fangtasia deserves better!

3437069887_dccedbeb41

I guess Eric Northman would have the final say though.

normal_EricNorthman__001_HBO

Another design decision I have issues with is Merlotte’s logo.  Is it just me or does it resemble a golf country club’s logo?  It doesn’t match the interior at all.  Look at the shirts and the glasses and then look at the surroundings.  I think it’s trying to hard to be a sports bar, and it’s not.  It’s a good ole boys’ bar, and a Louisiana bar like that would not use CAC Pinafore equivalent to create its logo.  Just saying.

merlinner4c

tb-20

Other than that, keep up the great work True Blood.  I’ll still be tuning in regardless of the poor typography.

For more:
True Blood online

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2009 4:43 am

    I love True blood Season 2

  2. July 25, 2010 7:42 pm

    I think it too long when it load…

Leave a Reply

