Skip to content

Design for Mankind

May 12, 2009

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Design for Mankind“, posted with vodpod

The latest dialogue video on Design for Mankind deals with Gender and Art. This is something I attempt to discuss often, but I fail miserably at it. I suppose I could blame it on the fact that I’m a post-modern child who is all for equality, but at the same time, I also realize that being a woman even today doesn’t mean I’ll receive that equality. I’m not a scholar on gender nor have I attempted to study theories dealing with gender in the field of art. Maybe that will change soon…

Anyway, the point of this was to discuss how irrelevant this seems to me. Sure, a lot of my favorite artists are men. I also have a few favorite artists who are women, and they’re just as talented if not more so than their male counterparts. I don’t base my decision of admiration on their gender. I’m drawn to art that inspires me. If a work of art catches my eye, it’s because of the composition, media, contrast and so forth that the artist uses to engage me as the viewer. At this point in my life, I could care less about their gender, race, orientation, hair color, alcohol dependency, number of freckles, etc. I just care about the art.

Isn’t that the way it should be?!
Hmmm…Something to think about.

For more:
Design for Mankind

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Simone permalink
    May 14, 2009 5:20 am

    I love the guy in this video, he points out how silly this whole gender discussion is. To me it seems, as they also say here, like art is often more about gender than art, like, the artwork gets judged by the fact that it’s made by a man or a woman, which means that people look through gender glasses, instead of looking directly at the art…

    If this adds something to the art or not, i don’t know, but i often find this discussion frustrating, as you say, it seems so irrelevant. But, i guess it’s still a big deal..?!

    By the way, i love your blog!

    Sorry if my English is not superb, I’m not native to the language 🙂

  2. May 14, 2009 6:12 pm

    ha ha…Yeah, that guy is Will Bryant. He is acting pretty silly in this video. He’s a cool fellow and a good friend of mine!

    I agree with what you’re saying. All people have different perspectives when they create art, but somehow I don’t think they’re creating art just from a woman’s perspective or a man’s perspective. They’re creating something much more than that. Or so I hope. Art is a refuge for everyone.

    I don’t know if that makes sense…

    Thanks for taking the time to read and comment! It means a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

