Skip to content

Ray Gun Magazine

April 27, 2009

It always amazes me when something random from my past emerges in the present at just the right moment.  This is the case with Ray Gun.  My former typography and graphic design professor used to compare my work to Ray Gun magazine constantly.  This pretty much started when I was a freshman.  The last time he mentioned it was when I took Typography as a senior.  He retired that same year, but I am glad I had the opportunity to learn so much from him.  He was teaching graphic design before it was actually a field.  He even worked with Massimo Vignelli.  Random tangent, but he used to tell a story all the time about how he bad mouthed some big designer to his face.  Priceless.  He is obviously a living legend that no one will ever know about until a gazillion years from now.

raygun1

rayguns7

rayguns8

rayguns10

raygun4

The whole point of this is that while randomly surfing on Graphic Exchange I found this post dedicated to the work of Chris Ashworth.  I never paid close attention to a Ray Gun magazine spread nor did I seek out information about it, but now I’m wishing I had because it probably would have inspired me to work even harder while in school.  It probably could have helped me expand upon a style that I was starting to create which seemed to be based on a punk/avant garde aesthetic.  Look at me trying to define my style.  Pssch.

Who knows what could have happened.

I guess I still have that opportunity now, and I will take advantage of it this time.


For more:
Ray Gun @ Wikipedia
Chris Ashworth’s work with Ray Gun

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 11:03 am

    Yeah this Ray Gun magazine is amazing. I wish I could get some issues, I wonder if it still can be found.

  2. June 12, 2009 11:29 am

    It really is! I bet you could find them online somewhere. My professor had tons of them. He must have bought every one of them.

Trackbacks

  1. Ray Gun Magazine

Leave a Reply

