Skip to content

Fantastic Planet

March 29, 2009

“Fantastic Planet” (1973)
also known as “La planète sauvage”

Why haven’t I seen this?!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 4:50 am

    wow! I’m going to watch this. Looks great. xox

  2. March 31, 2009 7:14 am

    Definitely! I’m about half way through the English one on YouTube. It’s pretty magical.

  3. Chelsea the alpaca queen permalink
    April 1, 2009 3:35 am

    Hi there, I came here from Patrice’s blog.

    I have this great memory of seeing Fantastic Planet on TV when I was six years old. My dad worked in a newsroom and would let me watch this little TV he kept in his desk if I finished my homework. One night he pulled the TV out of his drawer, played with the reception, and turned to me and said “You can watch this. It’s a cartoon.” The “cartoon” was Fantastic Planet.

    If you’re the girl who’s in love with Elvis Perkins, you may want to know that hearing “Sleep Sandwich” for the first time reminded me of that, and I made a little movie to go with that song which I’m submitting to film festivals now. Fingers crossed!

  4. April 1, 2009 7:24 am

    What a lovely memory! Fantastic Planet was a great film. More like a journey. I probably would have loved it as child. I was too busy watching Top Gun and Dirty Dancing when I was little. I missed out on the cool stuff. 😛

    Yeah, I LOVE Elvis Perkins! That’s really interesting. I could definitely see how that song would remind you of Fantastic Planet. I would love to see your interpretation of “Sleep Sandwich.” I hope it gets into a festival. That would be so rad!

  5. Chelsea the alpaca queen permalink
    April 1, 2009 9:40 am

    I just saw him at the Bowery Ballroom this week! He was wonderful. 🙂

    I’m submitting “Doorman” to the Austin Film Festival. Fingers crossed!

  6. April 1, 2009 2:17 pm

    I bet! I’ll finally be seeing him in May. I’m pretty sure I’ll cry. ha ha…

    Wowzers, that’s exciting! Best of luck!!!

Leave a Reply

