Skip to content

On the Road

February 10, 2009

In an effort to be semi-productive (outside of work anyway), I’ve begun a series based on Jack Kerouac’s On the Road.  The quotes included are bits and fragments composed from text I have highlighted while reading.  It’s always interesting to go back and look at a book I haven’t read in a while, because I can always tell whether or not it was good based on the amount of highlighting that took place.  My copy of On the Road is full of glowing text.


Photo credit totally goes to Patrice on this one.  Check out her work!

I know Kerouac is the author everyone is supposed to list on their profiles or name drop over coffee to garner cool points, but his writing style really challenged my perceptions of American prose.  I feel like the least I can do is try to convey some form of  imagery that is just as scattered and disconnected as his text (or at least the way it appears to be).

We’ll see what happens.

For more:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/petite_fille

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

