Skip to content

Franz Ferdinand

November 26, 2008

I’ve alway had a soft spot in my heart for Franz Ferdinand.  They were the first band I saw in a tiny club setting (Cotton Club, Atlanta GA). They were also the first band I was willing to make a fool of myself for without thinking (ex – remade the “Michael” video and gave them a Franz Teddy Bear.  Yeah, beat that!).  This was in my younger days, of course. I say that like I’m 70 or something.

Franz Ferdinand not only introduced me to a whole new music scene, they opened my eyes to the endless possibilities of art and design in relation to music.  I’m pretty much indebted to the fellows of Franz because if it weren’t for them I wouldn’t be the cross-country gig attending music obsessive art lovin’ feign I am today.

With that being said, I was quite thrilled to see the cover art unveiled for their upcoming album, Tonight.  It’s a bit of homage to Weegee, the famous New York photographer of the 50s who was definitely an early pioneer of shocking tabloid shots.   I’ve always been fond of Weegee’s work because of its startling contrasts (literally and figuratively).  This has to be one of my favorites by him.

wg1-64

Franz seem to have a strong concept in mind by choosing Weegee as inspiration for their cover art.  If the artwork proves anything, it’s that this album has to be a little darker.  A little grittier.  A little bit like the night.

I might be biased, but I’m pretty sure this is going to be an amazing album.  Just listen to “Ulysses”.

Leave a Reply

