Skip to content

Oliver Jeffers

November 22, 2008

Yeah, I stole another entry from Its Nice That.  So what.

But seriously, this is worth a post.  I’m absolutely in love with Oliver Jeffers work now.

His paintings are sensational.  I don’t know if it’s my screen or what, but there’s a subtle trompe l’oeil effect going on in a few.  I love how he places solitary figures against flat backgrounds, and I also love the little equations.  Very clever.

still-life-with-control-and-chaos
Still Life with Control and Chaos

sam
Sam

I wish I had his picture books as a kid.  They’re mesmerizing.

lost-and-found-2

lost-and-found-1

Oh, and did I mention he also does illustrations?

a-world-with-coffee-using-coffee-rings

A World With Coffee (using coffee rings)
What can he not do?!

For more:
http://www.oliverjeffers.com/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrice permalink
    November 22, 2008 7:51 pm

    That illustration is bad ass! I kind of really want that framed on all my wall.

    “bad jazz for good people” = genius

  2. hayley g permalink*
    November 23, 2008 3:40 pm

    I know, right?! That whole group of illustrations is genius. I wonder if it was done for a publication. They would be amazing as prints!

Leave a Reply

