Skip to content

Fellini’s Nights of Cabiria (1957)

November 19, 2008

This is the first Fellini film I have ever seen.  I know, I know.  I’m WAY behind, but I promise to catch up.

I think watching this Fellini film first was quite fitting for me.  I love the close ups and the crazy characters.  Not to mention the fact that Cabiria is a very relatable character.  Here, she is a prostitute in Rome who just wants to fall in love.  It’s a tragic story, but there’s hope and that’s all that matters right?

I’m not going to give the plot away.  If you haven’t seen it, you should do so as soon as you can.  It’ll make you feel better about life or at least help you escape for a while.

You’ll probably fall in love with Giulietta Masina.  I did.  I think we were separated at birth.

Check out more on my flickr.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrice permalink
    November 19, 2008 5:20 pm

    Oh, I didn’t know this was your first Fellini film! I’ve seen the two that everyone normally watches “La Dolce Vita” and “8 1/2.”

    I am adding this to my blockbuster online queue right now!

  2. hayley g permalink*
    November 19, 2008 5:26 pm

    I almost rented “8 1/2”, but this got my attention. I think I might get “La strada” next since Giulietta is also in it.

    Oh, and have you seen “Les Diaboliques”? I haven’t screen capped that. There’s some shots I want to, but I think I might save those for my Pentax. Anyway, I picked that up when I rented this, and it was pretty amazing. Apparently, it has some influence over “Psycho”.

  3. brandoncesmat permalink
    March 6, 2013 10:58 am

    I like your choice of images. There’s something real about the way Cabiria’s friend looks right into the lens and scolds the audience for watching the fight. It seems to set up the movie’s last shot when Cabiria herself looks into the lens and wishes us good evening. These shots breaking The Fourth Wall seem kind of anti-movie long before Fellini made 8 & 1/2, which is one of the best anti-movies ever.

Leave a Reply

