Skip to content

Inspiration Is All Around

September 24, 2008

One of these days, I’ll get around to actually creating work.  I’m just stuck in a rutt right now.  I’m so exhausted that I don’t feel like doing much of anything.  I don’t want to use my brain either.  Maybe I could just color and that would help.

I will post a few things I’ve found inspiring as of late.  I would have made a seperate entry for each, but why bother?

COLD WAR KIDS  (Life imitates art and vice versa)

The kids’ new album, Loyalty to Loyalty (OUT NOW!  PLUG!), has proven they have the guns to stick around for a good while.  I can’t pick a favorite track.  I constantly listen to certain ones over and over again.  I have a feeling I’ll wear this album out.

ANDY WARHOL  (A re-occuring presence in my life)

There’s another Andy Warhol exhibit coming near me.  About TIME!  I missed the one in Memphis but I WILL NOT miss the one in Alabama.  I actually had a dream where I saw Warhol’s work, but the museum I saw it in was closing down for the night.  So I had to view his work by flashlight.

I don’t know what goes on in my head anymore.  It’s a dream.  It shouldn’t make sense.

ELIZABETH PEYTON  (Words cannot describe her greatness)

Due to the recent conversation in Interview magazine between her and Jarvis Cocker, my love for her work has been rekindled.  I connect with her take on the “individual.”  I feel like a lot of my work and obsessions are stuck in between her normalcy and Warhol’s addiction to fame.  Elizabeth is so well spoken.  I’m glad Interview featured her.

Read the article I continue to highlight online at:  interviewmagazine.com

GOTTFRIED HEINWEIN  (Um, would you believe me if I told you this was mixed media on canvas?)

I want to say that my graphic design/illustration professor showed me his work, and he even said that my drawing of Alice Neel reminded me of his Heinwein’s style.  I’m going to disagree with that.  Heinwein is pure genius.  He pretty much takes on every medium effortlessly.  Don’t you hate to love people like that?

I couldn’t really pick a favorite by him.  The image above just leaves me speechless.

Check out his watercolors and mixed media.

—–

I’m considering dedicating an entry a day or every few days to each of my favorite artists as an effort to keep my mind intact.  Expect some more from me very soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrice permalink
    September 25, 2008 3:31 am

    Oh goodness, the new CWK album…there are definitely songs that I listen to on repeat. I definitely think this album shows their staying power.

    I need to find the new Interview now.

  2. hayley g permalink*
    September 25, 2008 1:17 pm

    It’s interesting how critics either love it or hate it. I’ve been reading more hate reviews though, and I find that depressing. They’ve matured a lot with this album. I hope they’re around for a good 50 years. Beatles style. They should at least play my wedding. If I get married…

    Okay…maybe they can play at my gallery opening when I’m like 70.

Leave a Reply

