Skip to content

Modern Art

September 18, 2008

While in Colorado, I visited the Denver Art Museum.  I saw some amazing work by Barbara Kruger, Sandy Skoglund and Adrien Piper.  The Denver Art Museum has an impressive collection, and  it happens to be open until 10:00 P.M. on Fridays so if you’re in the area take advantage of that.


Fox Games by Sandy Skoglund


Gilbert and George by Gilbert Proesch and George Passmore
One more reason why I should learn screen printing.


Linda by John DeAndrea
Probably one of the most startling and beautiful pieces I’ve ever seen.  I felt weird viewing it, because it was isolated  The museum has all these sharp angle so when I peeked around a corner I was met with this.  It’s created using melted polyvinyl.  Read more about how Linda is preserved while she is not on display.


Untitled (Lipstick urinals) Rachel Lachowicz
A subtle nod to Duchamp.  I dig it.


One Month Late, Rachel Lachowicz
This is made from lipstick.  And notice the coat hanger amongst the ties.  Such a powerful statement.


Pia Stadtbaumer
I wish I knew everything about this work.  If you happen to know the title, please let me know.

I really need to start writing down titles and artists in the old trusty moleskine.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 6:16 pm

    Hayley

    glad you liked the art in our little town. i live and work in the metro-area and am a native to Denver. I lived and studied in London for 14 years and now have my studio/gallery locally. I was inspired by Lachowicz’s work and you may want to visit my blog to check it out. I think she is fabulous. If you are still stuck with your art, check out Art and Fear if you haven’t already. Its a short but powerful little book that might help you out.

    good luck!

    Kim

  2. hayley g permalink*
    February 10, 2009 4:56 pm

    Hi Kim!

    Thanks for the comment. I enjoyed my visit to Denver very much. You’re so lucky to live in a town like that.

    I’ll definitely check out your blog and Art and Fear. I haven’t read it before.

    Where did you study in London? I’m hoping to pursue a Masters degree, and I am so tempted to leave everything and just move to England.

  3. February 11, 2009 5:19 am

    I studied at London Guildhall University, now called London Metropolitan University. I studied silversmithing and Jewelry design and then ran my business there for 7 years and was pretty successful. Living there was great but expensive. As was a resident and married to a Brit, I did not have to pay out of country tuition which was great. The Royal College of Art is fab for Masters but I don’t know what area you want to go into. The education there is pretty incredible because there is access to so much in the art and design world. Good Luck!!

  4. Nikki permalink
    April 30, 2009 5:58 am

    The last pic by Pia was made during WWII and it’s name is Max, Scissors and Crow.

  5. April 30, 2009 8:28 am

    Nikki, thanks for that little bit of information! That’s pretty simple to remember now. ha! That was such a fascinating sculpture. Very haunting.

  6. November 3, 2010 9:37 am

    i like both modern arts and classic arts because they both good ..

  7. December 2, 2010 1:43 am

    getting a masters degree is of course necessary if you want a wage increase and improvement in your career ~.’

  8. December 2, 2010 11:38 am

    you just have to get used to modern art to appreciate the beauty of it ‘”.

Trackbacks

  1. Museum

Leave a Reply

