Skip to content

Jules Arthur

June 25, 2008

I stumbled upon Jules Arthur’s work via Graphic Exchange, and I’m glad I did. His work reminds me of Joseph Cornell’s, but it’s a bit different because from what I have studied Cornell just collected random bits of nostalgia. Arthur, on the other hand, transcends that and captures the true personalities of his subjects. And while there’s a certain nostalgic quality, his work seems to be more centered on the experience of the human condition. I don’t know what else to say other than the fact that his work is absolutely stunning. I could stare at it all day.

For more:
http://www.julesarthur.com/

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrice permalink
    June 26, 2008 4:06 am

    I am in love with this. Especially the last two. I don’t even know what to say besides that.

  2. hayley g permalink*
    June 26, 2008 7:23 am

    I know! Gosh, he’s such an amazing draftsman. I really dig the textures he uses too.

  3. January 11, 2012 7:49 am

    Oh my! Truly beautiful. I am so inspired, thank you.

Leave a Reply

