Skip to content

Faces

May 14, 2008

I recently included a sequence of photos in my senior show, and someone asked me who this guy was that I photographed in one of the shots. It was kind of embarrassing to tell that person that I had photographed the young man from a TV screen. Sadly, I don’t know anyone with features like Jean-Pierre Léaud (If I did, I wouldn’t be spending so much time online that’s for sure).

Sometimes I wish that I had enough courage to just randomly go up to someone and take their photo. I see faces daily that stop me dead in my tracks. I don’t mean to stare or be rude. I’m just in awe of their features.

With that being said, here are some of my favorite portraits:


“Blind Twins” by Jane Evelyn Atwood


“Love on the Left Bank” by Ed Van der Elsken


“Les Enfants de la Place Hébert” by Robert Doisneau


“Young Boy, Gondeville, Charente,France” by Paul Strand


“Country Doctor (Dr. Ceriani after the loss of a patient)” by W. Eugene Smith

2 Comments leave one →
  1. hello, Hayley permalink
    June 17, 2008 12:31 am

    I came across your blog by accident,when searching Google for the photograph “Blind Twins”. So here it was, on you blog. Thanks. 🙂
    But let me introduce myself: my name is Ema, I’m from Romania and I am a photographer. I’ve read a little bit of your posts, and I can tell you that I have the same problem with taking photos, as you have with your artwork. It’s nice that you put all those painters and drawers on you blog.
    I can’t give you any advice because I don’t know you, but you must believe that you can create smth. different and don’t give up. Just try to draw smth each day and maybe the ideas will come. Now my problem is to find a photo project that I would take up with interest and dedication.
    I don’t have a web-site yet, but I have a blog where I sometimes put photos. You won’t understand anything, because it’s in Romanian, but if you are in the mood to take a look, here is the link to one of my photo albums:

    http://piticesti.blogspot.com/search/label/album

    They are real things that I see on the street, they have their own story, too bad you can’t read it. 🙂

    PS: by the way, I thought your name sounded like the Halley’s Comet, so I looked it up. In case you don’t know it yet, here’s what I’ve found:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hayley

  2. hayley g permalink*
    June 17, 2008 1:26 pm

    Wow, thanks for the comment, Ema!

    I’ll definitely be making an effort to create more art. It’s the main reason why I started this blog, because I wanted to document my own work and explore all the possibilities out there.

    Even though I can’t read your entries, I know I’ll enjoy viewing the photos.

    P.S. -ha ha…And it’s funny that you mentioned the bit about Halley’s Comet. I was sort of named after the comet because it came around when I was born.

Leave a Reply

